These were announced Friday 16/1/21 by the Junta de Andalucía regional government to curb the “explosive” spread of the third wave of coronavirus include a ban on travel into and out of municipalities with a Covid-19 incidence rate of more than 500 per 100,000 people in the last 14 days.

Across Andalucía, 219 towns and villages fall into this criteria. In Malaga province, the towns set to be affected are: Alameda, Alcaucín, Alfarnate, Alfarnatejo, Algarrobo, Algatocín, Alhaurín de la Torre, Alhaurín el Grande, Almargen, Álora, Ardales, Arenas, Benamocarra, Benarrabá, Canillas de Albaida, Cartajima, Cañete la Real, Comares, Coín, El Borge, Faraján, Gaucín, Genalguacil, Igualeja, Manilva, Moclinejo, Mollina, Monda, Ronda, Salares, Sayalonga, Teba, Villanueva del Rosario, Villanueva del Trabuco and Vélez-Málaga.

Of these Alameda, Alfarnatejo, Algatocín, Alhaurín el Grande, Almargen, Ardales, Benamocarra,Cartajima, Coín, El Borge, Igualeja, Monda, Salares and Teba all have incidence rates above 1,000 per 100,000. Here all non-essential activity will be prohibited, with bars, restaurants and shops set to close.

Travel into and out of these towns will only be allowed for justified reasons which include caring for a dependent person, health appointments and professional, business or legal obligations.

These restrictions will come into place at 12.01am on Sunday 17 January.